Statement from Currie Dixon on the Results of the Selkirk First Nation Election

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                                                        April 14, 2023

“I would like to extend my congratulations to the newly-elected Chief of the Selkirk First Nation, Sharon Nelson.

“Nelson is no stranger to the role, as she served as Chief from 2017 to 2020. She has also been a Deputy Chief and is a longtime employee of the Selkirk First Nation.

“Also, I’d like to welcome Crow Councillors Samantha Dawson and Ashley Edzerza, and Wolf Councillors Cody Sims and Patrick McGinty to council. I would also like to congratulate Elder Councillor Amy Johnny and Youth Councillor Keyshawn Sawyer on their successful election to council.

“I would like to thank outgoing Chief Darin Isaac for his time and work leading the people of the Selkirk First Nation over the past few years.

“Congratulations to the successful candidates, and everyone who put their name forward to serve their community.”